And Reading for Robin is Walking for ALS

Well, I will be walking for ALS, which is pretty much the same as Reading for Robin walking for ALS.

In recent weeks, in the wake of so many people doing so many nice things for me, I’ve felt a strong desire to do something nice for others. I skimmed the website of a New York charity that emails me regularly, but I wanted to do something that I really believe in. As it turns out, I found something I really believe in… and my mom would have really believed in too.

On May 15, 2010 I will be participating in the Walk to Defeat ALS in New York. My mom’s close friend has ALS and my mom would have done anything she could for her. This is the best I can do. I’ve rounded up a team of my friends and boyfriend to join me, and my friend Carley has named us Robin’s Walkers. Come May we will be walking the 5K in New York together (and hopefully in tie dye t-shirts).

If you’d like to contribute to my fundraising effort, please click here and follow the instructions to donate. But no pressure!

2 responses to “And Reading for Robin is Walking for ALS

  1. Hi Sam,

    I was in Florida over the weekend and had dinner with your dad, aunt Michelle and cousin Andrea. I want to complement you on your blog. Your dad is so proudof you! It is a wonderful tribute to your mom. I am so glad that you have shared readermom’s book list. I”ve been listening to books on CD for years now. Like your mom, I get them from our local library. (When you spend what I do in real estate taxes evey year you learn to take advantage of what your town has to offer.) I miss the hour drive that I had to work. Now I have half that amount of time to listen to my books. I also use my commute to catch up on my phone calls. This list could take me quite a few years to get through! I am a Nelson DeMille fan. His reader, Scott Brick, is equally as wonderful! I also love Jodi Picoult and John Grisham. It’s refreshing to have a list of other authors books to read.

    For your next project you’ll need to make a list your mom’s favorite movies. She seemed to always have a backlog on her Netflix list! Bobby and I always go to the Tribeca and the Hamptons Film Festivals so I was always able to give her a list of movies to see. Sometimes it would take a few year before the movies were distributed but she was always very patient.

    How about pop culture trivia? You’ll need to brush up on that too. No one knew it better then your mom!

    She’s a hard act to follow!

    Is “Tuesdays With Morrie” by Mitch Albom on her list? If you’re walking for ALS that’s a must read.

    Keep her legacy alive. Your mom was a wonderful and selfless woman. Did I mention a great Scrabble player as well? I didn’t have a fighting chance of even having a close score when we played against each other!

    Please don’t hesitate to call me if you need anything. My cell phone # is 516-551-7905 and work is 516-627-0216. (I’m finaly working and living in the same area code!)

    Do you know that I know yor dad for over 40 years and your mom for almost as long?

    I know that you, Adam and your dad will keep her memory alive. I know what an impact she had on so many people as well as our four legged friends!

    Love,
    Anita

  2. Pingback: Thank You For Supporting Robin’s Walkers « Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

