Smiling Down on this Blog?

In the course of this project, I’ve often stopped to wonder what my mom would think about it. It’s not that out of the ordinary since I tend to think that about most things lately. What would my mom think about me meeting Cynthia Nixon (yes, this happened!). What would my mom think about these new jeans I just bought? What would my mom think about my toothache? But what would my mom think about this blog? That’s one I keep coming back to.

On one hand, I think my mom would certainly be embarrassed. She was never one to seek the spotlight. She did many good things during her life, but she never did them for the attention. In fact, too much attention tended to fluster her. And this blog? It’s a whole lot of attention.

On the other hand, I think (and hope!) my mom would love it. She would be quietly flattered, she would really enjoy the book discussions (especially about books she was so obviously interested in), and, I’ll admit, she would probably be proud of just about anything I wrote.

With all of this in mind, I must point out something strange. In the top right-hand corner of the blog’s main page, if you look carefully, you can see a small smiley face. I’m pretty sure it wasn’t there when I started the blog, and must have appeared sometime during the first week or two. I have no idea how it got there. So now I like to think it’s a little sign from my mom that she is in some way smiling down on me and this blog. (It’s the least she could do if she can’t even correct my typos).

Do I really believe in supernatural things like that? No, not at all. But it’s a nice thought. And even if she isn’t showing her approval via some mysterious technological intervention, I’d like to go on thinking that somewhere my mom is pleased.

UPDATE: Apparently the smiley face only appears on certain browsers so if you can’t see it, please don’t think I’m crazy.

8 responses to “Smiling Down on this Blog?

  1. Your mom would be very pleased to know that you cared enough to do this blog . She was very proud of everything you and Adam did and she always kept me up to date on your activities. We all miss her but this blog helps keep her alive for me and I expect you too.

  2. Just imagine, she is snuggled up next to you as you turn the pages of each and every book for her to enjoy along with you knowing that her arms will never get tired. I suggest you read a book now and then that is not on her list just to throw her off track and question “Was that on my list?”Mmmm??

  3. I have no doubt she would love this Blog ( especially since she doesn’t have to write it. In truth this blog is not for Robin as it is for those who really knew her and tresured her as you do.

  4. Hey Samantha, you’re mom is smiling down on you! Whats the next book, as I need a head start since I dont have as much reading time as you do. I’m looking into getting a nook!

  5. Mom would love the blog (maybe not the name as you pointed out, but the spirit of it). You know she would ask for the website address then ask you a question about something you posted a few days later. She did that for a couple of my blogs and it was always a nice surprise that she was actually reading.

    As Aunt Michelle said, Mom loved knowing what we were doing.

  6. i love reading this site, as much as everyone else does! i know that mom is enjoying your beautiful writing and is so proud that everyone gets to read it too! keep it up samantha, it’s a wonderful tribute….

  7. Thank you for all the nice comments everyone!

  8. Pingback: Next Up: Devotion by Dani Shapiro « Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

