Happy Passover Everyone!

It’s been a busy few days of Passover seders. So busy in fact that I haven’t had time to write today’s post. Sorry about that! But I didn’t want to just go MIA and not post for the first time since starting this project. So instead I thought I’d share two quick thoughts from my Passover seders.

First is the idea of the family you make. Ever since leaving for college, I haven’t been home for Passover. However, hardly a year has gone by that I haven’t been to at least one seder. There have been friends’ houses, friends’ relatives’ houses and one dinner at the director of Hillel’s house. Everywhere it seems is a makeshift family. And this is particularly important for someone like me who has such a small real family to begin with. Over the years, as the good and the bad have happened, my family has learned that our friends have become our family (though we of course love our family too… I know at least one of you must be reading.)

The other thing I noted is that books tend to follow me everywhere. At last night’s seder, Carley’s grandma brought up the latest books she’s read and so started a big discussion. Almost everyone chimed in with their reading selections. And of course, I had to mention a few of the books on the list. Carley’s grandma had read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Shanghai Girls so it kept the conversation going. She promised to check out What Happened to Anna K. one of these days. It must just be me, but it seems everywhere I go the topic of books comes up.

(Sorry I can’t offer anything more interesting than that, but I wrote this last night after tons of food, some Manischewitz and a ride back from New Jersey so tiredness pushed me to do this quickly. Happy Passover everyone!)

One response to “Happy Passover Everyone!

  1. Happy Passover!

Leave a Reply

