A Review of The Ten Year Nap

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, Meg Wolitzer’s The Ten Year Nap isn’t really aimed at me. As a twentysomething living and working in Manhattan, spending time with my friends and boyfriend, and frequenting fun bars and restaurants in the city, I’m more the “before” of this story.

The four women at the heart of this story, also in New York, were all promising young women with careers ahead of them when they decided to sacrifice that life for the role of stay-at-home mom. Now, ten years later, they are examining their choices as their kids become more independent and their lives begin to feel a little less satisfying. It’s a story of marriage, motherhood and personal fulfillment. One day I expect to face the same choices and feelings. I’m just not there yet.

In the meantime, I thought the perspectives were interesting. Not only did the story feature the main women, but it also offered vignettes of other women from earlier times. All of the women’s mother’s stories were included as well as chapters that focused on such powerful women as Margaret Thatcher and Nadia Comaneci. It really added to the book to have these additions, giving a nice layered look at womanhood.

The story itself doesn’t move all that quickly, delving more into the character’s thoughts and feelings than actual developments. In some ways, this is good in that you get full portraits of the characters. However, I would have preferred a little more advancement in the plot.

Overall, the book was well-written with insightful viewpoints. It is just perhaps something I should reread in ten or twenty years. I enjoyed it now, but I think I would get more from it then.

One response to “A Review of The Ten Year Nap

  1. Pingback: A Night With Meg Wolitzer, Mary Gordon, and Reading With Robin | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

