The Bronte Sisters Take Down Jane Austen

Yesterday I wrote about Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre. But for the past year or so, it’s been Jane Austen this and Jane Austen that. The surprising bestseller Pride and Prejudice and Zombies spawned other similar parodies like Mr. Darcy, Vampyre and Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters. Jane Austen was everywhere… though not in any form she would have probably imagined for herself. Still, good for her.

However, her time in the spotlight seems to be fading with a new/old Brit Lit sensation taking center stage these days. Or make that two. In the recent issue, People magazine proclaimed, “Jane Austen’s so 2009; now it’s the Brontë sisters’ turn.” If there is a more credible source on literature than People magazine, I sure don’t know it. Anyway, from recent reimaginings including Romancing Miss Bronte, Charlotte and Emily, and Jane Slayre, it seems Charlotte and Emily Brontë are in the “in” crowd these days.

The House on Fortune Street isn’t quite a reimagining, but rather is just influenced by Charlotte Brontë. However, it did come out way back in 2008. So does that make author Margot Livesey ahead of her time? Such a trendsetter.

One response to “The Bronte Sisters Take Down Jane Austen

  1. I always had a lot of LOVE for the Bronte sisters, especially Charlotte and Anne. Jane Eyre is the go-to book when someone asks me what my favorite book is. Jane Austen, on the other hand, is a little humdrum for my taste. I do like Pride And Prejudice, Northanger Abbey and Presuasion, but I had a hard time getting through her other novels.

    I was a little unsure about what Jane Slayre would be like, but I’m reading it now (soon will have a review on my site), and I’m absolutely in love with it. Sherri Browning Erwin has done a great job of blending the monster-mashup moments with the original story.

Leave a Reply

