I’m Venturing Off The List For Stieg Larsson

If you’re an astute Reading for Robin reader, you may have noticed there hasn’t been an update on what I’m reading now. That’s because, after knocking off quite a few of my mom’s picks on my vacation, I’ve decided to take a detour and read something not on her list. Yes, I do that occasionally.

And this detour is well worth it. I recently started Stieg Larsson’s The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest. You Steig Larsson fans out there are probably more than a little bit jealous, and I like it. For you non-Steig Larsson fans out there, the book doesn’t come out until May 25. And more importantly, why aren’t you a Stieg Larsson fan?

To explain further, I’ll have to back up a bit. Back in December or so, I read the The Girl Who Played With Fire, the second in this addicting series on my Kindle. As soon as I finished the crazy ending I researched the next book. It turns out, the third and final book in the series picks up right where the second one leaves off. I had to have it… and right away. The fact that it didn’t come out until May was just a minor detail.

A little more research revealed that someone in the U.S. could procure the book simply by going through Amazon UK. Crafty, right? And it wasn’t nearly as expensive as I thought it would be. As long as I read it before it was actually released in the U.S. it would totally be worth it. Plus, I rationalized the purchase, knowing that there would be plenty of people hungering to borrow the book when I was done. My mom had recently finished The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo so eventually she would need it too.

The book finally arrived and opened the packaging with excitement. It looked like it was going to be a good one. It also looked like a gigantic hardcover. Well, that would make reading on the subway, at the gym or anywhere that didn’t have sufficient arm rests difficult. I remembered why I love my Kindle. So I put off starting it… just for the time being of course. Then my mom died and I started this blog. All of a sudden, my “To Read” list got a little more crowded.

It was last week that I realized the U.S. release date was fast approaching. My arbitrary personal deadline would soon be up! And so I dove in. This is one hefty book so I’m not sure I’ll actually finish by May 25, but oh well. If nothing else, my rationalization still applies. My dad has already reported that many of my mom’s friends are eagerly awaiting me passing the book on. I also have a friend or two who I’m sure would love a turn with it.

So, all I can say is, I’m reading, I’m reading! From the comfort of my bed where I can prop this giant up and not tire out my arms too much. And then it will be back to the list! Though it stands to reason this would have eventually made it onto my mom’s radar as well. Hopefully she would have been smart enough to wait for the e-book version.

6 responses to “I’m Venturing Off The List For Stieg Larsson

  1. Haha, I would like to think my violent reaction when I saw your copy of the book was some of the inspiration for this post. Mine is apparently shipping May 30th… Can’t. Wait.

  2. When will I get the earlier books sent to my Kindle?

  3. Pingback: Even a Friend’s Visit Can Turn Bookish « Reading for Robin

  4. Pingback: Happy Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest Day « Reading for Robin

  5. I’m thinking I should call off from work, so I can finish reading this book.

    I’m a fan!!!

  6. Cant wait, i”m halfway through The Girl That Played With Fire.

Leave a Reply

