My Most Recommended Book So Far

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie SocietyIn the almost four months since I started this project, I’ve read nine of the books on my mom’s list. That leaves 48 to go if I’ve counted correctly. Even at this relatively early juncture people often ask me to rank my preferences or ask for a recommendation. Instead of just telling them to read my reviews (read my reviews!), I generally offer them my humble opinion. So what book on Robin’s List is on the top of my list?

That would be The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. The first book from the list I’ve read also happens to be my favorite so far. It’s hard to pinpoint exactly why except that it was original, heartfelt and endearing. The characters are all quirky and the main character, Juliet, is witty and the perfect person to tie this story together. I’ve definitely suggested this book to more than a few people and even bought it for a friend. I’m so glad my mom’s former book club has just read this book too. I’m looking forward to hearing what they thought of it.

(For those who are curious, I think my runner-up for favorite book may be The House on Fortune Street.)

6 responses to “My Most Recommended Book So Far

  1. I truly enjoyed this book, as did everyone in bookclub. It is on the book club’s list of favorites.

    Our next book is The Help. Have you read that book?

  2. This was a great book. At first I didn’t know if I would like it written as letters, since I like dialog so much, but it ended up being very easy to read. I have seen movies and read books about the war, but I thought this recovery period after the war was really interesting. Plus I didn’t know about the Channel Islands being occupied. All in all a terrific rating from me!

  3. I enjoyed reading this book very much. It was nice to read about a period in time when people kept in touch by letters instead of emails and twitter. It was a fun read.

  4. Pingback: Yet Another Guernsey Post « Reading for Robin

  5. Pingback: My Lack of a “Best of 2010″ List | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

