Feast of Love: The Movie

So moments after posting yesterday’s “Next Up,” I realized that I had completely overlooked the fact that not only is this a book by Charles Baxter, but it’s also been made into a movie. And this was no small indie flick. Morgan Freeman is in it! That’s how you know it’s legit.

If you’re reading along with me and thinking of cheating by watching the movie instead, it’s likely you’ll have a different experience. Adapting books to movies is always a risky endeavor. I can’t tell from the trailer above whether this is a movie that would have a reader of the book groaning or not, but in general movies often fall short of the book. Then again, I’ve read only a chapter or two of the book so far… so what do I know?

What I do know is that the movie didn’t garner the same critical acclaim as the book. I mean the book earned itself a spot as a National Book Award finalist. The movie got a more mixed reception, landing a rating of 40% on Rotten Tomatoes. That puts it on the “rotten” side of the website that lets users choose between “fresh” and “rotten” to grade movies as well as aggregates the media’s reviews. Still, that means it wasn’t all bad news. I may just have to do some “research” and watch the movie myself. The things I do for my blog.

Did any of you see this movie? It’s from 2007 so how did I miss it? Or was it just that kind of forgettable?

3 responses to “Feast of Love: The Movie

  1. I really liked the movie, but I can see how it would not be well received by the general public. (it’s depressing)

  2. I did see the film a few years ago; my feeling was that it was touching & worth the 2 hours spent in the theater. The characters seemed real & the story line held my interest.
    I say rent it or get it on Netflix.

    Marian

Leave a Reply

