Celebrities Score Some Book Deals

Demi MooreThis week, like most weeks lately it seems, the celebrity world merged with the book world as the famous landed book deals.

Of the new book projects announced, there’s one I’m very excited about and one not so much.

Not so much? Demi Moore’s. According to Entertainment Weekly, “HarperCollins announced in a press release that Moore sold them a “candid narrative” that would focus on her relationship with her mother, Virginia King, and her three daughters with Bruce Willis.” That just doesn’t reel me in. For a celebrity memoir to be successful, I feel like they really need to dish out the dirt. I’m sure Demi’s got the material, it’s just a question of whether she’ll use it.

On the other hand, I can’t wait for Mindy Kaling’s book. Many of you are probably wondering who Mindy Kaling is. And, okay, “celebrity” is a bit of stretch since Kaling is hardly in the same ranks as Demi Moore. She plays Kelly Kapoor on The Office, a show for which she’s also a writer. I love The Office (even during its rockier moments this season and last) and so did my mom. We both shared a fondness for Jim, but we both appreciated Mindy as a writer. Her new book will be called “The Contents of My Purse” and The New York Times lets Kaling explain:

“What they bought was a funny book of comedy essays,” she said, “but maybe I’ll just turn it into a Jon Krakauer piece about murder in Siberia and perilous adventure to find details about that. I don’t want to be boxed in.”

Assuming she does stick to the original plan, Ms. Kaling said the book would probably be “stories about my life and my opinions.”

“But,” she continued, “I have such a rich fantasy life, I can’t help it. I do make up a lot of romantic stories in my head. I bet that will be in the book. Who knows? I could turn in a pulpy detective novel. The way that I think things work is that they don’t really check in with you until you turn something in.”

Either way, she said: “I’ve already spent the money that I sold it for. I’m really under the gun here to produce something.”

With that said, I can’t wait to read all her crazy random thoughts in a long form. If you want a little taste of her personality in the meantime, check out Mindy’s blog Things I Bought that I Love or her Twitter account, which cracks me up on a regular basis. You’ll have to wait until fall 2011 for the full book experience.

One response to “Celebrities Score Some Book Deals

  1. Pingback: Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes At Reading For Robin « Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

