Twitter Covers Life Altering Books

The GiverI know many of you probably don’t care about Twitter (and probably skip over my Author Tweets post – I’m okay with it), but this week there was actually a pretty cool literary trend happening on the site.

The trend was all about books that changed users’ world… or for Twitter users: #booksthatchangedmyworld.

It seems to have started with writer Susan Orlean who tweeted:

Bro-in-law once said “If we hadn’t read Hemingway at an early age, we’d be rich lawyers now.” So right #booksthatchangedmyworld

From there, it exploded. People from all over shared the books that made an impact on their lives, from Catcher in the Rye to Wuthering Heights to The Color Purple to The Bible to The Perks of Being a Wallflower (a Robin’s Reading List entry) and everything in between!

It made me think about what would be on my list. I’m not very good at these sort of things, mostly because I struggle to recall books I’ve read a while ago, even when I loved them. However, off the top of my head I’d have to include:

  1. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie – This is book really made me love mysteries.
  2. The Giver by Lois Lowry- This is one of the few books I’ve actually read more than once… on purpose.
  3. 1984 by George Orwell – For some reason, this is one school book that really stuck with me.

Those are mostly from my earlier years and I’m sure there are tons more, but like I said, these are the first ones that came to mind.

What are the books that changed your world? Just please don’t say Twilight…

5 responses to “Twitter Covers Life Altering Books

  1. Although I hated to admit it in high school for fear of being deemed nerdy (oh wait…) I actually really enjoyed 1984 as well!

  2. Well, it may not be considered a famous work of literature but Summer Sisters by Judy Blume certainly changed my life. It opened my eyes to things I didn’t know existed at 13, and I’ve read many times since then. πŸ™‚

  3. Atlas Shrugged did it for my when I was in my 20’s. Also, Silent Spring which is so relevant today & the Women’s Room.

  4. I would say “The Stand” by Stephen King. When I finished a 1000+ page book over the course of a weekend when I was but a young teen, it sure means something! Is it any wonder I like TV shows with sprawling casts when that book showed me how cool it is to have a dozen or so people each affect the narrative.

    Later in my teens, I would say “Fight Club,” just cause I loved the movie and the book was written is such a no frills, weird way, it probably spurred me to take up writing as well.

Leave a Reply

