The Elegance of the Hedgehog The Movie

The HedgehogIt seems I am on a streak of books that were made into movies… if two can be considered a streak. The movie-version of The Elegance of the Hedgehog may not be quite as well known to all of you, though, as that of The Feast of Love. That is unless you are French film buffs.

First published in France, the book was titled L’élégance du hérisson (The Elegance of the Hedgehog of course). The film adaptation was then called Le hérisson (The Hedgehog) and was released in France in July 2009. It’s since been viewed in only certain film festivals in the U.S. I believe it showed at a French Film Festival in Richmond, VA and at the Seattle International Film Festival where it won the Golden Space Needle award for being the festival’s most popular film.

I’ve just started the book, but my neighbor’s characterization of it as “challenging” has been accurate so far… though very interesting too. Of course, I’m sure once I get more into the story, I will find it to be easier going. But, if that doesn’t work out, I guess I can always try and get my hands on the film version. If I have to read the subtitles, that’s still reading and thus not cheating, right?

2 responses to “The Elegance of the Hedgehog The Movie

  1. A famous person, whose name escapes Google at the moment, said “Two is coincidence, three is a trend.”

    So I wouldn’t say it is a streak quite yet. However, if you reread “Water for Elephants” next, it will be a streak, as I hear R-Pat is filming that movie now. Which probably means I should read that book soon, before every last copy is consumed by Twihards. Yes, even Dad’s.

    • I’m okay with Robert Pattinson being in Water for Elephants. What concerns me greatly is rumors that Kristin Stewart was being considered or wanted to be considered or something for the role of Lisbeth Salander in Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. That would be unacceptable. Also, you should add that to your reading list.

Leave a Reply

