Adventures In Slush Pile Hell

The good thing about no longer doing a link round-up at the end of the week is that when I find an entertaining link I can dedicate more time and space to it. Today, I’m excited to share a new blog, SlushPile Hell, that has been going around publishing circles. I’ve been loving it.

For those that don’t know, “slush pile” refers to the set of unsolicited manuscripts sent to a literary agent or publishing company for consideration. Well, now a self-professed “grumpy literary agent” has created a blog to share the best one-liners he comes across in the letters that accompany these manuscripts along with his snarky commentary. The blogger never mocks the actual manuscripts, but rather the authors’, shall we say, interesting ways of trying to pitch them.

Here are some recent gems from the site:

I hope this submission leaves you in a condition of uncontrolled and irreversible “wow.”

Last time I was in that condition I spent the next day in a Mexican jail.

Readers of Eat, Pray, Love, Twilight, Tuesdays with Morrie,  and The Da Vinci Code will love my book.

You left out readers of Moby Dick, The Koran, and cereal boxes.

After reading my manuscript I think you’ll agree that I may be the next generation’s greatest author.

Justin Bieber, granted, you’re the next generation’s greatest performer, and maybe you do have the most hella cute windswept hair I’ve ever seen, but seriously, sometimes an ego check is good for the soul.

Oh man, being a literary agent may be worth it for these letters alone. Or maybe it’s just better to follow a blog written by one.

Leave a Reply

