Watching For Robin?

Okay, so I can’t read all the time. And of course neither did my mom. I’ve mentioned more than once her interest in TV, a trait my whole family shares. We often watched and even bonded together over TV shows. My parents and brother loved Lost, me, my mom and dad all thought Gilmore Girls was great (except for the last season) and so forth. A family that watches TV together stays together, right?

As with reading, my mom and I had similar TV watching tastes. We had our differences… she passed on Gossip Girl (probably for the best) and I could certainly do without Dancing With The Stars. But for the most part – Brothers and Sisters, The Office, 30 Rock, Top Chef – we were on the same page.

One show my mom (and dad and brother) watched last season that I somehow did not is Modern Family. They loved it. I don’t know what I was thinking – everyone who watched it has raved. So, I think this summer I will try and catch up on the show. Whether that means DVRing it or getting the DVDs, I’m ready to take on the first season. I’ve already used the summer to do the same for Glee. So bring it on Modern Family. It may not be on my mom’s reading list, but it would be on her TV list if she had such a thing.

*Oh, and just as a fun Modern Family fact in the news recently: The USA Network has bought the rights to syndication for 2013. So if, for some reason, I don’t get to it this summer… there’s always 2013.

4 responses to “Watching For Robin?

  1. Too bad we don’t live closer to each other; I apparently need to get caught up on this show too!

  2. “Modern Family” is a great sitcom, with typical, classic (and yes, somewhat cliche) setups and punchlines. But the actors throw themselves so much into the characters and make them seem so cartoonish yet real.

    It has been played to death on commercials on ABC, but one of the funniest moments of the year, in any show, is when the little sister falls off the couch laughing, making fun of her older sibling.

    For some reason, I can picture that happening in real life πŸ™‚

  3. yes, we all love Modern Family here too! each character is funnier than the other…and you know your mom MADE me watch Glee and it is my favorite show! enjoy your dvd’s this summer

  4. Modern Family is hilarious! We often end up talking about it during bookclub!

Leave a Reply

