Tolstoy Just Keeps Reappearing

Happy (belated) Fourth of July everyone! I’m guessing not a whole lot of people are reading this today. And as they shouldn’t – It’s the last day of a long weekend, go out and enjoy it! So I feel like I could write about anything here and no one would notice. I could expound on my favorite Fourth of July song perhaps… (God Bless The U.S.A. obviously)

But instead I will try and stay on topic. And today’s topic is Leo Tolstoy… there’s nothing more American than that, right?

I would never have imagined when I started this project that the Russian Lit mainstay would be such a part of the experience. I expected as much when I got to What Happened to Anna K. But now I’m on to The Elegance of the Hedgehog and Tolstoy has cropped up again and quite a lot actually.

The main character, a lowly  concierge with not so lowly intellectual pursuits, has a cat named Leo. It is in part her cat that attracts the attention of a new resident in the building, a distinguished Japanese man with two cats of his own, appropriately named Kitty and Levin. It is this discovery of a shared interest in Tolstoy that brings them together. That’s as far in the book as I’ve gotten, but I’m interested to see how else Tolstoy can crop up.

Thanks again Professor Morson, for making me read Anna Karenina!

Leave a Reply

