Yet Another Guernsey Post

Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie SocietyI know it was only a month and a half ago that I gushed about The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, picking it as my favorite book on the list so far. But another opportunity to gush arose today and so naturally I have to share it with you.

At work, a friend lamented having read a very depressing book for her book club and was looking for a more uplifting selection for the next month. The first and only book that came to mind was The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Perhaps this is due to my limited recall of books I’ve read, movies I’ve watched, etc., but I choose to believe it has more to do with my enjoyment of the novel.

Apparently I’m not alone. As soon as I mentioned it, two other people in the office piped up. “Yes, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society!” they exclaimed. (Maybe not quite like that. And maybe without the exclaiming.) They did confirm it was a good read and an uplifting one at that despite some sadder moments. Plus there’s love! And quirky characters! And an easy to read, letter format! Now who’s exclaiming…

Anyway, need a good, pretty quick book club pick? You know my choice. If it helps, my mom’s former book club liked it. So there’s that.

One response to “Yet Another Guernsey Post

  1. Pingback: The Tower, The Zoo and The Potato Peel Pie Society? | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

