A More Accurate Title?

Kavalier and Clay Better TitleToday one of the people I follow on Twitter alerted me to this new blog that I am loving. It’s called Better Book Titles and it renames books with a title that is a little more descriptive in terms of what the book is about. The blogger explains it better than I do:

This page is for people who have trouble slogging through the information on book jackets or feel intimidated by the title and cover itself. How many times have you perused the cover of a novel only to rub your sore eyes and realize you’ve learned NOTHING from the book’s title?!

This blog is for people who do not have thousands of hours to read book reviews or blurbs or first sentences. I will cut through all the cryptic crap, and give you the meat of the story in one condensed image. Now you can read the greatest literary works of all time in merely seconds!

With that in mind, The English Patient becomes “Erotica for Classics Majors,” The Devil Wears Prada turns into “Shallow People Doing Shallow Stuff,” and The Catcher in the Rye is simply “Analyze That.”

In a relevant turn of events, one of the books on my mom’s list also shows up on the blog. Michael Chabon’s The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, which I’ve been meaning to get to but first must accept that I am committing to a 656 page project, has a spot on the website. It’s “better title”? Gay Jewish Magicians Kill Nazis. With that title, I might have moved it up the list despite the page count. I’ll get back to you on the accuracy of this once I’ve read it, but something tells me it won’t be too far off.

One response to “A More Accurate Title?

  1. Not sure how I feel about “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo” being re-named “This Is The First Book I’ve Read In 6 Years…” But I loved Kavalier & Clay so I look forward to reading your take on it soon!

Leave a Reply

