Obama and My Mom Thought Alike

ObamaThank goodness for friends who do my research for me. Carley ever so helpfully forwarded me an article yesterday from The Daily Beast titled The Barack Obama Book Club. I was immediately interested.

With the Obamas off for vacation, the article’s writer decided to pull together the president’s to-be-read and already-read lists based on interviews and information from the White House since his campaign in 2008 through the present. The list includes everything from Thomas Friedman’s Hot, Flat, and Crowded (a book he’s mentioned a few times) to The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt.

Of course, the book that stood out to me was Richard Price’s Lush Life. That’s because it’s on my mom’s list too! Yup, that’s right, see it there? In that column to the right? Clearly, my mom and Barack have the same taste in books.

Then again, my mom would probably never read Hot, Flat, and Crowded or The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt… or most of the other books on Obama’s list.

Oh well, they’ll always have Lush Life. And eventually so will I. At least now Obama and I will have something to chat about if we’re ever at a dinner party together. So glad I don’t have to worry about that anymore.

One response to “Obama and My Mom Thought Alike

  1. Pingback: Is That A Book In Your Pocket… | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

