For Love Of The Times

NY TimesSorry everyone for my glaring absence yesterday. Andrew and I were busy moving, and in between carrying a bed up many flights of stairs (Andrew) and building a dresser (Andrew), I couldn’t find the energy to blog. I didn’t even have the energy to blog about how I didn’t have the energy to blog. But you can rest assured that now I’m back, so let’s get to it…

Besides reminding me of my mom’s fondness for Bud Light, J.R. Moehringer’s The Tender Bar has also brought to mind another of my mom’s loves: The New York Times.

My mom shared with J.R. a great admiration for the paper. Many, many, many years after leaving New York, my mom still coveted the Sunday Times. She got a copy from our neighbors and it was also a treat for when she visited me. Not only did she enjoy the stories (The Sun-Sentinel just can’t compare), but she was a whiz at the crossword puzzles. Seriously, her New York Times crossword puzzle skills were legendary.

Funny, I never would have thought that a memoir about a bar would bring so many memories of my mom.

One response to “For Love Of The Times

  1. Pingback: My New Hobby | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

