Next Up: Beautiful Boy

Beautiful BoyNow that I’ve moved and am sharing space with another person, I realize how much stuff I have. And how much stuff Andrew has. And how much stuff we have combined. Which means we filled up my bookshelf pretty quickly.

With that in mind, I decided I should probably make my way through some of the books on the shelf that I haven’t read yet. Particularly ones that aren’t mine so I can give them back to their rightful owner. So that brings me to Beautiful Boy by David Sheff. Carley’s sister Barrie lent me the book when I started this project and it’s about time I got to reading it.

Here’s the description:

Sheff’s story is a first: a teenager’s addiction from the parent’s point of view a real-time chronicle of the shocking descent into substance abuse and the gradual emergence into hope. Before meth, Sheff’s son Nic was a varsity athlete, honor student, and award-winning journalist. After meth, he was a trembling wraith who stole money from his eight-year-old brother and lived on the streets. With haunting candor, Sheff traces the first subtle warning signs, the denial (by both child and parents), the three A.M. phone calls (is it Nic? the police? the hospital?), the attempts at rehab, and, at last, the way past addiction. He shows us that, whatever an addict’s fate, the rest of the family must care for each other too, lest they become addicted to addiction.

So from The Tender Bar and alcohol to Beautiful Boy and drugs I go.

One response to “Next Up: Beautiful Boy

  1. Pingback: My Vacation Reading List | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

