Franzen Frenzy Comes To Reading For Robin

FreedomSo I’ve mentioned a few times on the blog that I’m currently reading Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom. However, my mentions are not at all proportionate to the amount of mentions of Franzen and Freedom in the mainstream media. In fact, he’s mentioned so much, particularly by the New York Times, that feminists are up in arms about the perceived bias in favor of white male authors. Which has, in turn, only created more media buzz. So I thought I should try and catch up a little.

All the media hype has only made me more curious about the book and the author behind it. I just found out that Franzen was in New York two days ago to do a reading at the Union Square Barnes & Noble and I’m sorry I missed it if only to see the man, the myth, the legend in person. And if Jonathan Franzen himself wasn’t enough of a draw, word has it that Emperor Franzen was in the house too with a cloak on and everything. Emperor Franzen is an account that has popped up on Twitter lately in response to the Franzen furor and it is hilarious. His bio reads: “Chicks dig me. I was on the cover of TIME. That’s TIME magazine, bitches. ALSO: NO I AM NOT THE REAL J. FRANZEN. HE DOESN’T EVEN OWN A CLOAK.” For some entertainment, check out his Twitter feed.

As for the actual book Freedom, I’m finally nearing the end and I’m into it. I don’t think it was over-hyped. Or, okay, it was probably over-hyped just because it’s been praised all over the place and then some, but I still find it to be really good. And NPR, in one of the more recent articles about the book, agrees that it’s earned its praise. So, you know it’s got to be at least a little good if me, NPR, The New York Times, New York Magazine, The Los Angeles Times, and on and on and on…. think so.

One response to “Franzen Frenzy Comes To Reading For Robin

  1. Pingback: More Reading for Robin Book to Movie News | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

