Someone Else’s Quote Worth Quoting

New York CitySo I used to do a feature on the blog more regularly called “A Quote Worth Quoting” that opened with a paragraph that went a little something like this:

I’m not a person who underlines phrases that speak to me in books. I’m not one who even thinks that phrases speak to me in books. But during this project, I’m going to try and be that kind of person. I think it will add something to the discussions about the books and maybe even give you all a little insight into who I am.

I’ve sort of let it go by the wayside recently, but it’s back today. However, I’m cheating a little. I mentioned the other day that I am reading my book club book The Lost Girls on my friend Maggie’s Kindle. Well, that gives me the advantage of seeing all the parts she’s bookmarked and highlighted already. Fortunately, she is the kind of person who underlines passages and take notes on parts that interest her.

Not far into the book I stumbled upon one her highlights. I liked seeing what caught her eye, and as I read that particular section, it caught my eye too. That’s why we’re friends I guess. So, now that she did the picking of the quote for me, I will share it with you all:

“For the past four years, I’d considered New York my home. So in a way, home for me wasn’t a specific address. The reason New York felt so right was that it was like a hundred countries squeezed into a single island. It was a land where Wall Street brokers bumped up against Mexican busboys on the subway; the scent of falafel mixed with dim sum in the East Village; and horse-drawn carriages shared the road with racing bikes in Central Park. I’d fallen in love with the energy in Manhattan. And then I’d fallen out of love with it. And then I’d fallen all over again. new York was like an addictive relationship–when it was good, it was really, really good. But when it was bad, it made me feel like I was on sensory overload, threatening to pull me under until I lost myself.”

Of course in a book about traveling the world, I am drawn to a passage about New York. Most people who have lived here can identify with the love-hate relationship with the city described. New York can be completely frustrating at times (particularly times when it’s raining and you need to get somewhere and there is not a single cab to be found), but I can’t imagine myself living anywhere else at the moment.

(A special thanks to Maggie for making writing this post so easy! You knew something like this might happen when you lent me the Kindle…)

One response to “Someone Else’s Quote Worth Quoting

  1. Glad I could help! Love you!

Leave a Reply

