eBooks on a Plane

TVs on AirplaneI know, I know, the title of this post is lame, but I just had to do it.

For those who don’t know, I’m skipping off to Europe this weekend. And by “skipping” I mean taking about a seven hour transatlantic flight. So, that means, I’ve been busy thinking about what books to read on the plane. I’ve started filling my e-reader and planned to read the equivalent of an entire library, ignoring any thoughts of sleep or friendly chatting.

But could airplanes soon help my reading habits besides just offering plenty of uninterrupted otherwise boring time to read? In a piece that particularly caught my eye thanks to my upcoming travels, Media Bistro’s eBookNewser contemplates e-books coming to airplane screens. Apparently, Virgin America’s “Red,” the in-flight interactive entertainment system, offers a “Read” button. As of now (and since the airline launched in 2007), that button leads you to a “Coming Soon” message, but it does open the door for a lot of possible opportunities. eBookNewser imagines options like offering e-books for free or purchase, accessing to your Amazon or Barnes and Noble account, or viewing sample chapters from publishers. It seems like there’s a lot of reading potential that can be tapped into with those little screens on the back of seats. I’m sure it won’t be long before we see it utilized.

In the meantime, I’m trying to convince myself to leave my hardcovers and paperbacks at home and just rely on my Kindle for this trip. But more on my reading line-up later…

One response to “eBooks on a Plane

  1. Have a wonderful time!!

Leave a Reply

