Kavalier and Clay Book Is Kind of a Big Deal

Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay pulitzerOnce I decided on Michael Chabon’s The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, it was time to do a little research.

Turns out the book is kind of a big deal. I didn’t need to do a big Google search to see that – it’s right on the cover. The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2001. You’ll notice the gold seal to the right.

I did do a Google search, though, so I also found out that the book was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award and for the PEN/Faulkner Award. Even better, the search turned up this quote about the book from Book Reporter:

There is no way you can read THE AMAZING ADVENTURES OF KAVALIER AND CLAY in one sitting. You are going to savor this thing like it’s the best cheesecake you’ve ever had in your life, and perhaps the last — thus, you will take small bites, really digest every piece, enjoy it, love it and never forget it.

I’m more of a chocolate cake rather than cheesecake kind of girl, but that’s a description that makes me excited about the book. And hungry for dessert.

One response to “Kavalier and Clay Book Is Kind of a Big Deal

  1. Cheesecake is awesome!

    And I felt the opposite way, kinda, when I read it. I didn’t want to put it down, I wanted to read it all, now.

    Maybe that means I should reread it and savor it a little, now that I know what will happen.

Leave a Reply

