More Reading for Robin Book to Movie News

Scott RudinYou know I love to talk about the movie adaptations of the books I read. Because who doesn’t like movies?

So Michael Chabon’s The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay is no exception. Way back in 2000, Scott Rudin (that’s him to the left) bought the book’s film rights and hired Michael Chabon himself to adapt the script. It’s now ten years later and there is no movie to speak of. Rudin is supposedly still trying to make it happen, but there have been various set-backs.

In the meantime, a recent article reveals that this isn’t exactly the only book-to-movie project Rudin is working on. He has an impressive collection of books’ film rights with many still far from becoming movies. And on that list is more than one title tied to me, my mom and my mom’s list. Of course, there’s The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay. There’s also Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close, a movie I mentioned just last week. Also in Rudin’s arsenal of film rights are Lush Life (on the list), Freedom (recently read, much talked about here), and the U.S. version of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (another favorite topic). Plus a whole bunch of books I can’t somehow relate to this blog.

I’m not sure what I want him to work on first! But, Rudin should probably get moving.

 

Leave a Reply

