My Kind of Harry Potter

The newest Harry Potter movie comes out tonight at midnight, and I know that plenty of people will be decked out in their Harry Potter gear for the late night premiere. I will not be one of them.

This may be a controversial thing for me to admit, but I was never big into the Harry Potter craze. I resisted the books at first. Magic and fantasy are not my thing when it comes to entertainment. I like my books, TV and movies to at least be based somewhat in reality. However, when the fourth or so book was about to come out, I finally caved to the pressure of my friends and read the first three. Then when the fourth came out, I borrowed it and read that too. And I liked them. I could almost pretend they were about a great group of friends at a cool school, and not focus on the hocus pocus of it all. But when I realized I’d have to wait a year or two for the next one, I simply lost interest. I gave up and that’s as far as I’ve gotten.

Then the movies started coming out. To be up on pop culture, I saw the first one or two. And I liked them. But they were long. And they got longer. Most people who know me know I don’t do well with long movies. I tend to fall asleep… even during short movies… even during the day. So I soon gave up on these too.

There is, however, one aspect of Harry Potterdom that I do still love. Well, in addition to Emma Watson with her smart, down-to-earth personality, and cute new bold pixie haircut. And that is the above video. My friends Carley, Alli and I came across The Mysterious Ticking Noise one summer while interning in New York, and it has entertained me ever since. Just try and watch it without getting it stuck in your head. Now this is something Harry Potter related I won’t give up on.

2 responses to “My Kind of Harry Potter

  1. I was trying soooo hard not to click on the video….but I failed. Great.

  2. Pingback: Jane Eyre Movie Preview | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

