Letting Go of My Prejudice Towards Never Let Me Go

Never Let Me Go Movie PosterThis month my book club is reading Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. It was not my choice, and from the description of the book I wasn’t particularly excited.

First, let me share the description:

As a child, Kathy–now thirty-one years old–lived at Hailsham, a private school in the scenic English countryside where the children were sheltered from the outside world, brought up to believe that they were special and that their well-being was crucial not only for themselves but for the society they would eventually enter. Kathy had long ago put this idyllic past behind her, but when two of her Hailsham friends come back into her life, she stops resisting the pull of memory.

And so, as her friendship with Ruth is rekindled, and as the feelings that long ago fueled her adolescent crush on Tommy begin to deepen into love, Kathy recalls their years at Hailsham. She describes happy scenes of boys and girls growing up together, unperturbed–even comforted–by their isolation. But she describes other scenes as well: of discord and misunderstanding that hint at a dark secret behind Hailsham’s nurturing facade. With the dawning clarity of hindsight, the three friends are compelled to face the truth about their childhood–and about their lives now.

A tale of deceptive simplicity, Never Let Me Go slowly reveals an extraordinary emotional depth and resonance–and takes its place among Kazuo Ishiguro’s finest work.

It sounds a little weird, right? I don’t normally do weird. Granted the description sounds interesting, but anything that strays too far from reality is not my first choice. What can I say, I must not have much of an imagination.

All that being said, once I started Never Let Me Go, with some trepidation, I found I liked it. I read the whole thing in just two days! It may not become one of my favorites, but I enjoyed the plot, and didn’t get too bogged down in the unrealistic elements (yes, the premise does in fact turn out to be a little strange). I guess a little weirdness never hurt anyone.

Oh, and there’s a recent movie based on the book. Check it out:

2 responses to “Letting Go of My Prejudice Towards Never Let Me Go

  1. My mom just handed me Never Let Me Go to read on the train. It sounded familiar and I figured out that’s because I read it on your blog!

Leave a Reply

