My Lack of a “Best of 2010” List

Best of 2010So it’s that time of year. Snow is (intermittently) falling, lights are twinkling, tourists are mobbing the city, and every publication known to man is putting out a “Best of 2010” list. The book world loves picking the best of the best. The New York Times, NPR, The Washington Post, Amazon, you name it, they’ve ranked it. Even smaller blogs are getting in on the year-end roundup action.

But I can’t.

I’m too indecisive. I could never decide my Top 10 or even my Top 20. And if I did somehow put together a list, I’d probably instantly second guess my choices. So I’m just not going to. I can say, as I have been saying for months and months, that the first book I read from the list, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, is one of my favorites. The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay is one too, I think. The House on Fortune Street and The Tender Bar are up there as well. As for books not on my mom’s list, I’d most likely put Emma Donoghue’s Room and Jonathan Tropper’s This Is Where I Leave You at the top. If I was making a list that is. But I’m not.

What were your favorite books of the year? If, you know, you were ranking?

(Thanks Paste magazine for the lovely logo I borrowed above.)

3 responses to “My Lack of a “Best of 2010” List

  1. Guernsey and One Day!

  2. Pingback: Why I’m Not Sharing My Best of the Year…Yet | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

