Reading With Andrew

Packing for MarsAndrew and I don’t really have the same taste in reading. He tends to gravitate towards books with words like Entrepreneur, Business, and/or Money in the title. I tend to avoid these much like I avoid eating anything coconut, calling strangers and making decisions. My books have more to do with love, family, difficult choices, that sort of thing. Gross, right?

But something amazing happened earlier in the week. Andrew read my reading resolutions and informed me that he too liked non-fiction so maybe we could find a book we both wanted to read. I said great, here’s what I’ve had my eye on so far… The Emperor of Maladies. It’s supposed to be a great “biography” of sorts about cancer. I might as well have told Andrew we were having squash wrapped in eggplant for dinner for the lack of enthusiasm he showed. I guess a book about cancer isn’t for everyone.

So I thought about it and came back to him with Packing for Mars. It’s Mary Roach’s latest non-fiction all about the eccentricities of living in space. Her website describes it as such: “From the space shuttle training toilet to a crash test of NASA’s new space capsule (cadaver filling in for astronaut), Packing for Mars takes us on a surreally entertaining trip into the science of life in space and space on Earth.” Space is not so much my thing. I tend to leave that to my brother the Aerospace Engineer, but this book caught my eye (originally when I thought about buying it for my brother the Aerospace Engineer’s birthday). The chemical make-up of stars and the orbital paths of planets don’t really interest me, but how people survive out there? I’m fascinated.

And space is Andrew’s thing. He looked into the book and was hooked. Before I even made it home from work, he’d ordered Packing for Mars online and it showed up the next day. He’s already started it and I’m waiting my turn.

It’s nice to have a common interest… besides food, the Office, word games, and all that other stuff. Now the question will be whether we both like it. Either way it helps with my resolution, so there’s always that.

4 responses to “Reading With Andrew

  1. are you going to have a book club-like discussion when you both finish it because that would just be way too precious?

  2. I DO love space, and after reading only 50 pages of this book, I know I don’t ever want to go there. Being locked in a tiny area with multiple people, eating unsatisfying food, getting little sleep, and defecating with no gravity does not sound like fun to me. I’d rather have that squash and eggplant wrap you mentioned before, Sam!

  3. I love eggplant, squash, and learning more about cancer research. Sign me up!!

  4. I will eventually pick up this book. Like I will eventually read the books I currently have.

Leave a Reply

