Next Up: A Girl Becomes a Comma Like That

A Girl Becomes a Comma Like ThatI’m getting a little ahead of myself with this post. Indeed, A Girl Becomes a Comma Like That by Lisa Glatt is “next up” but “next” may not be as soon as it sounds.

This weekend was consumed with reading, but only manuscripts for work which I was terribly behind on. Now that the weekend is over, I still have one to finish and one that I interrupted to read these others that I also need to finish. This may be the first time I have two  books that I am in the middle of at the same time and, I’m not going to lie, it’s a little stressful. Even more stressful is the fact that neither are on my mom’s list. This doesn’t bode well for my already ambitious goal of finishing, or even nearly finishing, the list in 2011. But that’s okay – resolutions are meant to be broken.

All that aside, the next book I pick up once I finish these others will be Lisa Glatt’s A Girl Becomes a Comma Like That which is on my mom’s list. The publisher Simon & Schuster describes it as such:

Rachel Spark is an irreverent, sexually eager, financially unstable thirty-year-old college instructor who moves back home when her mother is diagnosed with terminal breast cancer. As she tries to ease her mother, a perpetually cheerful woman, toward the inevitable, Rachel turns from one man to the next — sometimes comically, sometimes catastrophically — as if her own survival depended upon it.

Ella Bloom, an adult student in Rachel’s poetry class, has aspirations beyond her work at a local family planning clinic. But she spends her nights wondering why her husband kissed one of her colleagues and whether it will lead to a full-fledged affair. She is also preoccupied with one of her repeat patients, Georgia, a teenager whose frequent clinic visits speak volumes. What they all have in common is their desire for love, despite its many obstacles.

A Girl Becomes a Comma Like That is a novel rife with wit and compassion. A provocative, assured new voice in literary fiction, Lisa Glatt eyes the yardsticks by which we constantly measure our world and ourselves — devotion, lust, forgiveness, and courage.

Yes, I will once again be reading about a mother dying. My mom really knew how to pick ’em, eh? But I like wit and compassion, which this supposedly has, so I’m going for it.

(On a side note, whenever I write one of these posts, I have to search in my archives to check whether I normally title it “Next Up” or “Up Next.” I’m still not sure.)

One response to “Next Up: A Girl Becomes a Comma Like That

  1. Pingback: My Mom Made a Mistake | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

