Book Club Beach Reading

Last Night at Chateau MarmontBy the time you are reading this post, I will hopefully be en route to Cancun. (Unless, this snow storm, yes another snow storm, stands in my way.) I’m not telling you this to brag. Okay, I’m telling you this to brag a little. But there’s some reading involved too.

This month my book club is reading Last Night at Chateau Marmont by Lauren Weisberger, and I must admit it wasn’t my first choice. And that’s not just because it’s chick lit (I like a good chick lit). It’s that I tried unsuccessfully to read Lauren Weisberger’s earlier book The Devil Wears Prada. You may have heard of it. While I ended up really liking the movie, I just couldn’t get through the book. I don’t remember much about it except that I think my mom lent it to me and after the first few chapters I gave up on it. But that was a long time ago and a different book.

I also appreciated the selection of Last Night at Chateau Marmont when I remembered my trip to Mexico. It seems like a great beach read. I am very much looking forward to the combination of this book, some sun and sand (though hopefully not too close to my Kindle).

Then again, it’s supposed to rain during much of my vacation so here’s hoping that the book holds up just as well with some clouds, precipitation and hotel lighting.

Leave a Reply

