The Perks of Being a Wallflower: The Movie

Emma WatsonThe amount I like movie news is disproportionate to the amount of movies I actually see… if that makes any sense. I think I just enjoy the excitement that comes with casting updates, trailers, and all the pre-release buzz stuff more than I actually enjoy sitting in a cold dark room for over 2 hours as one of my favorite books gets butchered.

So, with that being said, there’s news on the Perks of Being a Wallflower movie! I haven’t read the book yet, but it’s on my mom’s list and I hope to get to it soon. The paperback has been sitting on my shelf for months so it’s about time.

Anyway, it was just announced that Stephen Chbosky, the author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower, will direct the adaptation of his novel as well as write the screenplay. At least he’ll be in charge of the butchering of his own book.

As for casting, Emma Watson has signed-up to play Sam. Since I haven’t read the book yet, I don’t know who Sam is but I imagine its probably a good choice. I’ve mentioned it before, but even though I don’t love Harry Potter, I do love Emma Watson. She just seems so down-to-earth and fun.

All this amounts to some excitement for the movie. A movie I may or may not see, but will follow with interest until it comes out at least.

3 responses to “The Perks of Being a Wallflower: The Movie

  1. Pingback: Next Up: The Perks of Being a Wallflower | Reading for Robin

  2. Pingback: The Perks of Being a Wallflower Trailer | Reading for Robin

  3. Pingback: The Perks of Being a Wallflower in the Theaters | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

