Judging a Book By Its Cover

Family AlbumFamily Album Family Album

 

 

 

 

 

I’d like to give you an update on Family Album by Penelope Lively, but I’ve been so busy lately that I only just started it. So that only leaves me the cover by which to judge the book.

I know, I know, you’re not supposed to do that.

But Google Image-ing the cover for an earlier post about the book got me thinking. One book can have a few different covers over the span of its lifetime. Family Album has had at least three, which you can see above. The one on the left is from the hardcover. The one in the middle is the one I own and it’s for the paperback. On the right is the UK edition.

I would love to hear the reasoning behind each one, but absent that I can only judge. Personally, the paperback one is my favorite and not just because it’s the copy I have. To me, the hardcover is a little too plain while the UK edition is a little too quaint.

Anyone else have an opinion? Vote in the comments! In the meantime, I’ll get to reading so we can talk about more than just cover art.

 

Leave a Reply

