Let’s Take The Long Way Home

Let's Take The Long way HomeWhile I was at Borders this past weekend, I casually picked up books I had heard a lot about and read the back covers. Then I got to Let’s Take The Long Way Home by Gail Caldwell. I’d skimmed the USA Today review of the book a couple of months ago and it caught my eye again.

Let’s Take The Long Way Home is a memoir about Gail’s relationship with her best friend who died from lung cancer. Gail and Caroline Knapp bonded later in life over writing, dogs, and their shared alcoholic past. As the description says, “It’s an old, old story: I had a friend and we shared everything, and then she died and so we shared that, too.”

The first time I heard about Let’s Take The Long Way Home I noted that it sounded interesting and then thought nothing of it. When I re-read the description in Borders, though, I realized that the name Caroline Knapp sounded familiar. Turns out that’s because her memoir, Drinking: A Love Story, is on my mom’s list.

Now, I think maybe somewhere down the line I will read Let’s Take The Long Way Home. It does seem a little Year of Magical Thinking-esque, which as I’ve mentioned is a bit more sad and depressing than I would normally seek out, but I also like the idea of it celebrating a friendship. And I like that it ties in to my mom’s list. So we’ll see where my reading takes me.

One response to “Let’s Take The Long Way Home

  1. Pingback: Next Up: Drinking: A Love Story | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

