The Wednesday Sisters Channels My Thoughts on Writing

Writer's Block mugI would love to be an author. I would also love to be a person who likes to run, a person who volunteers often, a person who speaks multiple languages. This is to say that as much as I would like to write a book, it’s not something I’ve really put any effort into yet or worked on at all. It’s more a “someday far into the future that might be something I would possibly kind of like to maybe try and do.” However, when I have thought about it casually, I realize I have no ideas. No plot points or characters come to mind. Everything I do think of comes from a book I’ve already read.

In The Wednesday Sisters, five friends set up a writing group. At first, some of the women find the writing impossible. It is in this quote that The Wednesday Sisters so perfectly articulates my thoughts:

“But what exactly were we supposed to write? How could we come up with stories that hadn’t been written before?”

It is a very good question. It is one I will have to tackle someday far into the future if writing is still something I would possibly kind of like to maybe try and do. Just don’t hold me to it!

One response to “The Wednesday Sisters Channels My Thoughts on Writing

  1. I think our book club has found a calling! Perhaps we should turn our discussions to a more inspirational nature… after we eat of course! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

