My Favorite Series Gets a Prequel

Boxcar ChildrenWell before I read Stieg Larsson, even before I read Mary Higgens Clark and Agatha Christie, I devoured Gertrude Chandler Warner’s The Boxcar Children. That makes it sound like I ate little Henry, Jessie, Violet and Benny, but really I just loved the series. It was probably my first taste of mysteries and I couldn’t get enough of those orphaned children and their exploits.

Now the series is (sort of) being resurrected. GalleyCat reports that award-winning children’s author Patricia MacLachlan will be writing a prequel to The Boxcar Children series. The book will be published in September 2012 just in time for the 70-year anniversary of the series’ debut.

While I’m probably just a tad too old to go back to The Boxcar Children, it makes me happy to know that a new generation will be introduced to those clever kids.

3 responses to “My Favorite Series Gets a Prequel

  1. I loved this series as a kid too. It’s definitely still around though- 100+ books, plus graphic novels! No longer written by Gertrude Chandler Warner of course, but the authors writing the series now have stayed true to her voice ( I don’t read them for myself, I read them to the kids I babysit for πŸ™‚ ) They are hard to find in bookstores but Amazon has many.

    • Way down the line when I finally have kids, I will have to dig these books up for them. I hope the new ones haven’t been too modernized with Twitter and Facebook and all of that.

  2. i love the boxcar children they are so awesome and earlier at school i got this book from the library and i loved it even though im still in 2 pages :b

Leave a Reply

