Westward Bound This Weekend

Napa ValleyI have been quite the jet-setter so far this year, eh? Well it continues tomorrow as I leave the rainy East Coast for… the rainy West Coast!

Laura and I will be visiting Tory in San Francisco with a brief jaunt to Napa thrown in there. Laura is leaving for the Peace Corps in Africa (!) this summer so a big reunion was necessary before she left us and the good ol’ US of A.

However, this will be quite the quick trip. I leave tonight and return early Monday so airport + plane time may just about equal actual California time. Ah well, it’s quality not quantity that counts. And as always, the airport + plane time gives me plenty of reading time. This weekend I’ll be starting A Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore, a book my mom recommended a long time ago that I finally got around to buying. If that’s not enough to hold me over for two cross-country flights, I’ve also got The Finkler Question loaded onto my Kindle.

I’ll be squeezing in as much reading as I can while squeezed into the plane seat because in between flights it will be nothing but good food, good wine, and great company!

2 responses to “Westward Bound This Weekend

  1. hope you had a great time…beautiful part of the country!

  2. Pingback: Overly Ambitious Plane Reading Plans | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

