Overly Ambitious Plane Reading Plans

A Gate at the StairsIn the words of my friend Tory, “Epic adventures with old friends all weekend. No time to write.” Except substitute “no energy to write” in for that last part. After two cross country flights (one that started with a 4:45 am wake-up call yesterday), delicious food, and more glasses of wine then I can count, I’m back from my great West Coast trip and trying to catch up on real life and sleep.

Before I give up completely on writing coherent sentences, though, I must say I was a bit over ambitious in my reading predictions for the weekend. I figured since I don’t sleep well on planes I would get through at least one, if not two, books on my flights. I have been known to consume many a book on my travels. But I learned via my Virgin America experience the last few days that sometimes my love of reading is no match for the lure of a flickering TV screen in front of me. I’d like to say I passed up more reading to watch something worthwhile or at least non-embarrassing. However, if that were true, then I wouldn’t be as well versed in Teen Mom 2 and E! News as I am.

All that being said, I’m well into A Gate At The Stairs and enjoying it. It’s not a quick read, but much more than I thought it would be. More to come when I finish. For now, re-hydration and rest are in order.

2 responses to “Overly Ambitious Plane Reading Plans

  1. I have it on my Nook, and I will read it eventually. And then we can discuss πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

