I Want Tina Fey’s Bossypants

BossypantsMy mother and I had similar tastes in television – a very important topic in our household. One of our shared likes was 30 Rock. Today I still find it to be one of the funniest shows I watch along with Modern Family and How I Met Your Mother.

This is all to say I was pretty excited when I found out Tina Fey was writing a book. I think she’s great. And the more I’ve heard about her book, Bossypants, the more I want it. Like now. Even if the cover freaks me out more than a little bit.

How could you not instantly fall in love with a book that has blurbs like this attached to it:

PRAISE FOR TINA FEY:

“You’d be really pretty if you lost weight.” (College Boyfriend, 1990 )

“Tina Fey is an ugly, pear-shaped, overrated troll.” (The Internet )

“Mommy, where are my pretzels?” (Tracy Morgan )

ADVANCE PRAISE FOR BOSSYPANTS:

“I hope that’s not really the cover. That’s really going to hurt sales.” (Don Fey, Father of Tina Fey )

“Absolutely delicious!” (A Guy Who Eats Books )

“Totally worth it.” (Trees )

“Do not print this glowing recommendation of Tina Fey’s book until I’ve been dead a hundred years.” (Mark Twain )

“Hilarious and insightful. Laugh-out-loud funny — oh no, a full moon. No! Arrgh! Get away from me! Save yourself!” (A Guy Turning into a Werewolf )

My friends are probably already sick of hearing about how much I want to read this book. I have so many books to read already I don’t need more. And yet…  My only realy question is should I get it in print or on audio? On one hand, I want it in print so I can pass it along after I’ve laughed my way through it. But on the other hand, I want it in audio so I can hear Tina herself read me all the hilariousness. Maybe once I’ve finished A Visit From the Goon Squad, The Chosen One and the other books vying for my attention, I will be ready to make a decision. Opinions welcome!

6 responses to “I Want Tina Fey’s Bossypants

  1. Why not both (if you can afford it)?

    From what I’ve read about the book, it is only loosely a memoir and more like a collection of random thoughts. I feel like the experiences of reading and listening would be totally different and new such that it wouldn’t seem like a repeat. And you know Tina Fey will vocalize certain parts of the book in a humorous manner.

    Of course, you should probably have some time in between reading and listening. Maybe read the book first, then read another book in between, then listen to the audioversion?

    • I could do both but I feel like that’s a big time commitment and won’t the jokes be old by the time I get to it a second time? It will be a snap decision at some point.

      • I think there is a sublime difference in how you perceive the humor when you are reading something versus when you are listening to the comedian. Fey’s tone and dictation may add a level of humor to the jokes one doesn’t get from a straight reading.

        If you space it out enough, you can renew some of the “newness” of the jokes by “forgetting” them a little. Plus, since it is not a linear book, with a thorough plotline, I bet you can just listen to the occasional story/chapter whenever you have the time if you are listening to the audiobook after reading it.

  2. hi sam!
    this book is also high on my list. only bummed that miss bossypants isn’t doing many more interviews. only the biggies…sigh…anyway -will still read and most certainly love her book. such a talent! we also love same shows as you mention…robin

    • Yes I guess she’s busy what with her show and being pregnant and all that but still unfortunate. We’ll have to discuss the book once we both get around to it.

  3. Pingback: 2011 Recap: Favorite Audiobook(s) | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

