Books Enter The Restaurant Realm

BrushstrokeWhen we’re not reading, Andrew and I love going out to eat. Okay, when I’m not reading, Andrew and I love going out to eat. Seeing as we are young and live in one of the most expensive cities in the U.S., we only hit up the best restaurants on special occasions, like when we went to Bouley for my birthday last year.

And speaking of Bouley, David Bouley is introducing a long anticipated new restaurant. Brushstroke features Japanese cuisine and is set to officially open on April 20. The New York Times and Gothamist both recently shared a preview of the restaurant and what caught my eye was not the food but the decor. Look closely at the picture above and you’ll notice that those are books! The walls in the bar/lounge are made of 12,000 recycled paperbacks. Which is why I can talk about it here on my book blog.

Maybe some occasion in the future will bring me to Brushstroke. But is it worth it if I’m more excited about the walls than the food?

(Photo via Gothamist)

Leave a Reply

