Next Up: Lush Life

Lush LifeI am announcing that Lush Life by Richard Price is the next book I’ll tackle in this project, but in reality I’m not convinced. I seem to be in a bit of a rut. I can’t decide what to read next and none of the books on the list are jumping out to me at the moment. I’m sure this is a temporary feeling.

In the meantime, I’m picking Lush Life and hoping it’s one I’ll get excited about as soon as I start it. I certainly should – it got great reviews and was picked as a New York Times Notable Book of the Year. Obama even brought Lush Life on vacation with him in 2009.

And now a little about the book:

Lush Life is a tale of two Lower East Sides: one a high-priced bohemia, the other a home to hardship, it’s residents pushed to the edges of their time-honored turf. When a cocky young hipster is shot to death by a street kid from the “other” lower east side, the crime ripples through every stratum of the city in this brilliant and kaleidiscopic portrait of the “new” New York.

One response to “Next Up: Lush Life

  1. Pingback: The State of the List | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

