Book Club Discusses A Visit From The Goon Squad

A Visit From The Goon SquadWarning, this post was written under the influence of NyQuil so I apologize if its coherence is questionable.

Last night my book club talked about Jennifer Egan’s A Visit From The Goon Squad and it went really well. We covered everything from plot clarifications, to Egan’s view of the future, to the story structure and whether it is deserving of the Pulitzer. Since I don’t believe I’ve read any of the previous Pulitzer Prize winners I don’t have a basis for comparison. But I do think the novel was innovative, creative and yet very readable. Basically, what I mean is, I liked it! And most of the people in the reading group liked it too! Even as the conversation drifted to gossip and Hunger Games casting news, we kept coming back to points in the book. A good discussion plus delicious homemade Mediterranean food means all in all a successful book club.

Now, Carley and I get to pick the next selection and so the pressure’s on.

One response to “Book Club Discusses A Visit From The Goon Squad

  1. Pingback: 2011 Recap: Favorite Fiction | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

