Gossip Girl Meets Publishing

Gossip GirlSo in other not quite timely news, last night I watched the season finale of Gossip Girl. Now I don’t want to give away too many spoilers because I know you’re all big fans, but there was a bit of a publishing storyline involved.

Jonathan Karp, the publisher of Simon & Schuster, made a cameo. It turns out the scene was filmed not in his actual office, which does not have his name engraved on the window, but on a set in Long Island City (thanks for the info, Daily Intel!). The fake office did feature real Simon & Schuster books though. In the background were posters for Little Bee and So Much Pretty, both of which I read/listened to in the past year.

As you can clearly see, Gossip Girl does have a literary element to it. And this isn’t the first time. So, I can practically consider watching this guilty pleasure a work activity. I mean I should certainly get paid for it.

2 responses to “Gossip Girl Meets Publishing

  1. Hi, I’m a student a Marlborough Girls’ College and I would to ask you permission if I could use the picture for my assessment. It would be only shown to the class.
    Thank You

    • Hi Fern,

      I just took the picture from the Internet so it’s not mine and I can’t give you permission to use it one way or the other. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

