My Busy Book-Filled Week

BEASo you may have noticed a lack of blog posts the past couple of days. I have not (quite) disappeared… I have just been super busy.

Ever since returning from Maryland, I have had a jam-packed schedule. That includes hosting my awesome friend Laura who will be departing for the Peace Corps in Africa in just one week! Don’t worry, in case she needs a taste of American culture, I did in fact buy her Tina Fey’s Bossypants audiobook. (I also need to get in all my Laura shout-outs now before she has limited internet access and thus limited Reading For Robin access).

But getting to the book-filled part of my busy book-filled week, I’ve also been taking part in Book Expo America and some loosely related publishing events. There have been audiobook awards given out, a few seminars attended, and a bit of wondering amongst the booths. It might not sound glamorous, but oh it is, it is. I have rubbed elbows with celebrities. I almost followed Julianne Moore to the bathroom, I observed Kathy Lee Gifford from a not so far distance, I watched Star Jones moderate a panel, I heard Diane Keaton talk about her upcoming memoir, and I told Mindy Kaling that I love her on The Office and  on Twitter. We’re pretty much best friends now. (My mom would be so proud – she liked her too!)

However, it hasn’t all been Hollywood hijinks. I also got to hear some really great authors speak, from Brad Meltzer, Tony Horwitz, and Karin Slaughter to Charlaine Harris and Jeffrey Eugenides. I now want to read everything Jeffrey Eugenides has written. His upcoming The Marriage Plot will come first, but I will get to Middlesex and The Virgin Suicides. I am embarrassed to admit I haven’t read them already.

Anyway, I hope you all will find this description a somewhat suitable explanation for my absence. At least the chaos has provided a few good stories. And isn’t that what it’s all about?

3 responses to “My Busy Book-Filled Week

  1. wow, you are putting in serious competition for the grossbergs! lots of celeb sightings, i see!

  2. Pingback: The Giver Gives Again | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

