A Lesson in Twilight Complaining

TwilightI do plenty of Twilight bashing here on the blog. But a post I came across yesterday from the blog (The Customer Is) Not Always Right via GalleyCat has made me think twice about my actions.

The story goes that a Canadian bookseller is talking to a man reluctantly buying the Twilight series. When the bookseller asks the man why he is buying books he isn’t looking forward to reading, he replies, “Well, I’m an English professor. Every time I reference low forms of literature, I always use Twilight as the example. Today a student asked if I’ve actually read them, and I had to say no. They demanded that I do.”

He has a point. I’ve never actually read Twilight (or watched the movie) so my opinions are entirely based on assumptions. That doesn’t mean that I’m about to start reading them, but it does mean maybe I’ll criticize a tad less. Now let’s see how long that lasts…

Leave a Reply

