Listening to Unbroken… Very Broken Up

UnbrokenWhile I’m finishing the Irresistible Henry House and starting Split, I’m also listening to an audiobook. On my iPod is Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand, the author of the bestselling Seabiscuit.

Unbroken follows the inspiring true story of Louis Zamperini, a juvenile delinquent turned Olympic star turned war hero. Since it first came out, I’ve been hearing raves for both the book and audiobook, but I ignored the reviews because it’s not my kind of book.

I don’t often read war stories, but when it came time to pick a new audiobook to listen to I kept coming back to Unbroken. And I decided that’s the beauty of audiobooks. It’s the perfect way to experience a book I know I would probably never get to in print.

So far, I’m only on chapter 4, but I’m really enjoying it. The audiobook is 14 hours, though, and I listen in about 10 minute chunks on my way to and from work and various other places I need to walk to. I’m getting through it piece by piece. But I’m not complaining. I’m just warning you: Don’t expect my finished review anytime soon.

One response to “Listening to Unbroken… Very Broken Up

  1. Pingback: Unbroken Completed | Reading for Robin

Leave a Reply

