Add Another One to the TBR List

State of WonderAnn Patchett’s newest book State of Wonder has been floating on the periphery of my consciousness for a week or two now. I’d seen the title a few places and skimmed past articles about the book, but never really stopped to think about it. Until a text conversation with a friend. Lauren helpfully reminded me that I did in fact know the name Ann Patchett. She’s the author of Bel Canto.

I read Bel Canto after it came highly recommended to me from a variety of sources. One friend raved about it on Spring Break and, if I’m remembering correctly, my mom also had good things to say. In the end, I do believe Bel Canto lived up to the good reviews.

Which is to say I got much more interested in Ann Patchett’s new book State of Wonder once I recognized the connection. It probably should not have taken me as long as it did to put these things together. Now, State of Wonder has found a place on my TBR (to be read) list.

“What else is on that illustrious TBR list right now?” you ask from your side of the computer. Thanks for asking. At the moment, the list is random and includes The Hunger Games, Mr. Peanut by Adam Ross, The Emperor of All Maladies, The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson, A Julie Klam book (either You Had Me at Woof or Please Excuse My Daughter), The Handbook for Lightning Strike Survivors by Michele Young-Stone, and quite a few other things. And that’s not even counting the books on my mom’s list!

Leave a Reply

