Happy Birthday America (A Couple Days Late)

World and TownI suppose the whole Happy Fourth of July thing is a little out of date by now. I spent the wonderful weekend in Chicago, relaxing on the beach, eating so much I couldn’t move, and celebrating Lauren’s birthday. It was so nice (and so tiring) that the Reading for Robin boss decided to give me an extra day off of blogging. So I missed my opportunity to say that I hope you all had a great Fourth of July weekend in a timely manner.

Nevertheless I hope you all had a great Fourth of July weekend.

Somewhere in all that beaching/eating/birthdaying I managed to start World and Town by Gish Jen. In retrospect, it’s super appropriate because look, there’s a firework on the cover! So much July 4th love. I’m just starting to get into the book now so I can’t comment on more than just the cover, but you know you’ll be hearing about it.

P.S. I have to say this one Casey Anthony related thing. I will be sad when all parties involved inevitably get book deals. Hey publishing industry, just this once, can we not? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

