The Kid: The Push Sequel Is Here

The KidI just read an article on NPR about The Kid, the sequel to Push by Sapphire. Push is a much raved about book that was turned into a much raved about movie Precious. My book club made me read Push and Stacy made me see the movie titled Precious. While both were moving, both were also very depressing.

I had forgotten a sequel was coming, but going into the Reading for Robin archives showed that I had written about just this topic way back when in November. Now, eight months later, the book has actually come to fruition. But, from what I’ve read about it, my prediction was the same. The Kid, which follows Precious’ son after she dies of complications from HIV/AIDS, appears to be equally profound but equally depressing.

Unless book club picks it again, I will probably pass on this one. I’m not sure I can take that much sadness.

Leave a Reply

