I’m a Bloodless Nerd

Penelope LivelyPenelope Lively is the Booker Prize-winning author of Family Album, which is on my mom’s list and which I read a few months ago. She’s also apparently a little opinionated when it comes to e-readers.

In a Telegraph UK article yesterday, the 78-year-old Lively was quoted as saying, “There are two points at which I might use a Kindle: when travelling, though I don’t do much of that any more, and when in hospital, which is quite likely to arise at some point. So that could be very useful. But as a general way of reading books, no. It seems to me that anyone whose library consists of a Kindle lying on a table is some sort of bloodless nerd.”

Well, call me a bloodless nerd then! Though, I wouldn’t say my library consists only of a Kindle lying on a table. I mix it up plenty with print books. In fact, books that I am most excited about I often get in print to display and share. So I guess that makes me a partial bloodless nerd… and I’m okay with that.

Leave a Reply

