Unbroken Completed

UnbrokenIt may have taken me just shy of one month to listen to all of Laura Hillenbrand’s Unbroken audiobook, but I’m glad I didn’t let the 14 hour length intimidate me into not going for it.

The rave reviews were right. I really enjoyed the audiobook! In fact, yesterday I got to work and simply sat staring at my blank computer screen as I listened to the last five minutes of the audiobook. Sorry, boss.

Unbroken tells the true story of Louis Zamperini. In World War II, his plane went down over the Pacific and his survival over the next few years is better than any fictional tale could be. I feared for him while lost at sea and cringed at some of the more intense torture he endured at the hands of his Japanese captors. I even got through the parts that simply went over the technical aspects of planes or other more mundane statistics. Narrator Edward Herrmann made even these less exciting sections worth listening to. In this way, I think I probably enjoyed the audiobook more than I would have the book.

Now that Louie Zamperini is behind me, it’s time to take up a new audiobook. I’m moving on to The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman and read by Christopher Welch. While the reviews on Audible are mixed, a coworker who is listening to it now recommended the book and the background for the narrative, an international English-language newspaper, seems right up my alley. Either way, I’m looking forward to some new company on my walks to and from work.

Leave a Reply

